House Raising Question?

Nissan Navara Forum

Help Support Nissan Navara Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RustyNav09

Reaction score
Hey all

I have a question for anyone who knows or is i the house raising and restumping gangs.

The wife and i are in the process of buying a house and have found the house we want but it needs tlc. Which is fine to me as i am a carpenter but dont work on new housing or exterior renos. I base myself on interior renovation and home maintenance.

The house we have found is sitting on stumps at non legal living height of 2.1m ish. We wish to raise it to legal living of 2.4m. The house is hardwood timber frame sitting on brick piers already. Is it as simple as raising and added more bricks to the existing piers and extending all the necessary power, water, etc to suit? Or is it a complete removal and new piers installed?

Also what rough $$$$$ is invloved?

I think you will.find that you will need to submit plans to council with engineers reports . To do it legally to get a certificate of occupancy. As for the $ it depends greatly what council your under

I'm no expert in any sense. But...

Permits from councils and inspectors are getting more and more expensive. Hence why some people choose to risk renovating and adding verandahs and the like and try to get away with it.

Engineers are rarely cheap and if they are they are it's probably not to best to hire them on that basis.

Plumbing and electrical are fairly competitive trades in domestic area but be wary of the lower prices as you get what you pay for. Being licensed trades though the cheap guys still have to follow standards and regulations as it's our licenses on the line.