Advice Please

Nissan Navara Forum

Help Support Nissan Navara Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

maddogrc

Reaction score
hey all,

i'm currently thinking of doing a somewhat impractical, but money saving project/plan.

after seeing a few REALLY cheap REAR d22 and patrol diffs on ebay with all the suspension and gear still attached to it i considered 2 options.

a. take the patrol diff, chuck an ARB air locker in it and bolt it onto the d22

b. take a patrol or d22 diff, weld all the gears and bolt it onto the d22 (and changing over to standard diff when i dont plan on using it for a while)

do these options sound like ok ideas? i've had a look at a few air lockers and auto lockers and in summary they are all expensive yet really good. as i'm strapped for cash by being a student i cant fork out over a grand for a diff lock kit :(

currently these are the only options i can think of and i'm favouring option b. though option a. would be a lot more practical and safer.

if i do take up option b. is there anything i should know about when it comes to welded diffs? also how do it go with putting oil in welded diffs, same as normal?

cheers,
george

my advice is dont weld a diff centre. next best thing to a locker is a LSD from a 4x4 d22, are you planning on doing this to your 4x2?

is there anything i should know about when it comes to welded diffs?

They have the life expectancy of a gnat and attract pigs like slop?

Swapping an axle every time you want to go for a drive in the mud sounds like a LOT of hard work, I'd stick with A if you really can't stretch to a dedicated Navara locker. Don't go too crazy with suspension mods though as if a loss adjuster can sniff an unengineered mod, say goodbye to all your insurance.

Which rear diff do you have, C200 or H233b or something else?

why bother with the patrol diffs ? you can get lockers for the rear navara diffs.