Winch amp draw

Nissan Navara Forum

Help Support Nissan Navara Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nismo4x4

Reaction score
hey guys something doesnt make sense. Im looking at buying a 12000lb winch which apparently draws 400amps...the YD25 alternator is rated at 130amps...

bit confused as im not keen to hear a pop and fork out for a refurbished alternator...

OK I am not an expert on these things... Old.Tony will probably drop in shortly with a much better explanation... however in lieu of that...

Your battery (starting) will have a CCA of about 680CCA (or is it 660?) which means it can output 680 amps for a short period of time for the purposes of starting a motor (with a starter motor) Essentially running your winch is the same concept.

Your alternator will not generate enough current to run the winch alone, which is why you have your battery as part of the system.

Your alternator will however bring the voltage up to 14ish volts (someone will correct me with an accurate figure for the Nav) which lowers the current required for the winch to do the same work.

The alternator will also recharge the battery after winching.

In short, I cant see how it will cause damage to your alternator and whilst I don't own a winch (yet) I could see how that sort of current draw could be possible on one of these winches at full load.

brad

Last edited:
just to add this in.. i found this on the Tigerz11 webpage, it shows how the current draw increases as load on the winch does. Tigerz11 recommend a 650CCA battery for this winch.

Line Pull Line Speed FPM (m/min) Motor (Amps)
0 22ft (6.8m) 80
4000 (1814) 11.5ft (3.5m) 175
6000 (2722) 9.8ft (3.0m) 230
8000 (3629) 8.2ft (2.5m) 280
10000 (4536) 6.8ft (2.1m) 355
12000 (5443) 5.6ft (1.7m) 400

taken from here

bm0 has it right.