What is this part

Nissan Navara Forum

Help Support Nissan Navara Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

StinkRotten

Reaction score
Can anyone help me identify the part that I have circled in my pics, also what does that part do? The vehicle is a 2009 D22 2.5L CR. Thanks in advance for your help
IMG_20220111_210410.jpg
IMG_20220111_210346.jpg

I'm no expert and don't have one of those models but that sure looks like a throttle body to me. The big clues are the hose bringing in the air from the intercooler and the pipe from the crankcase ventilation system.

I meant to write fly by wire.
ok make that no "fly by wire" throttle body.
they don't have throttle bodies.

most variable turbo diesels do not have a throttle body because the turbo increases the exhaust back pressure to push more egr in rather than use a throttle body, like the zd30 does, to lower boost pressure to 'suck' more egr in.
however some engines may have a intake butterfly to shut the air off on engine shutdown or engine runaway.

most variable turbo diesels do not have a throttle body because the turbo increases the exhaust back pressure to push more egr in rather than use a throttle body, like the zd30 does, to lower boost pressure to 'suck' more egr in.
however some engines may have a intake butterfly to shut the air off on engine shutdown or engine runaway.
Ok fine it’s just fly by wire. And an egr valve . Happy

For clarity, the photo taken from the from of the car does have the EGR valve circled. The photo taken from the side has the throttle body circled. On my model at least, there is a butterfly valve inside the throttle body. The EGR valve is a pollution control device and plays no part in the throttle function, as is clearly evidenced by the throttle working exactly the same when EGR blanking plates are used.

Whether or not the same applies to other models I have no idea.