Tray or Tub?

Nissan Navara Forum

Help Support Nissan Navara Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BGP

Reaction score
Hey all,
I've currently got a tray on my D22 and was wondering whether to buy a Tub? With tray was thinking about setting up toolboxes on either side for storage as the tray doesn't have a cover and also for security (at the moment I don't really use it much for security reasons). However I've been thinking about buying a tub with hard top or potentially a canopy so that it's easier/safer to store things in the back. I'm an apprentice electrician and will be taking the nav away for weekend trips etc. so was wondering what the better option would be?
Also the tub I'm looking at getting is off a 2015 d22 and I own a 2011 d22, will the tub fit?
Cheers.

Hey mate, you could get a canopy for your tray instead, but it depends how you want to set it up. If you want to change to a tub, the 2015 may fit. I know they did have issues in thailand around 2011/2012 and moved manufacturing back to Japan for a while, but I don't know if the tubs stayed the same.

The only things that were different were the towbar and the mounts for the rear step, but if you haven't got either of them it will bolt up fine. 2015 should have the longer tub anyway, but regardless, without the rear step the towbars will fit ok anyway. I removed the step from my 2010 and bought a towbar off someone with an earlier model who changed to a rear step and it fitted fine, the tongue just sits too far under the chrome step otherwise.

Personally I would stick to the tray and build a frame with lockable doors which make it much easier to access for fridges/camping etc in the back or even a ladder rack on top for sparky work/boat etc if needed