Humming after stopping and engine turned off

Nissan Navara Forum

Help Support Nissan Navara Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ashino12

Reaction score
Hello,
This is probalby posted before but I can't find a similar post. As background I'm a non tech person. I have a 2018 Nissan Navara STX, done 75,000k's. Currently doing a camping trip around Australia and have just noticed that the engine quietly hums for about 10 seconds every 30 minutes after I've switched the engine off. This goes on for several hours. Now this is slightly annoying to campers. I disconnected the battery but it still happens. I did read on Google that a pump runs for a while to cool the turbo to make it last longer. But why would it run if the bettery is disconnected. If its needed can the interval be shortened or if its not needed can a service centre disconnect it.

Certainly the egr cooler runs for a little while after shutdown.
I don't think that is what you are describing though.

The other possibility is a GPS tracker. (Basically a simple mobile phone which can make your speakers buzz)

The other possibility is a GPS tracker. (Basically a simple mobile phone which can make your speakers buzz)
No rust prevention unit that I'm aware of. The noise is coming from sort of under the engine bay not from inside. Its very consistant on the hour. I'm wondering if its heat related. It sounds like a motor running. I'm off to see a local dealership. Thanks again for your thoughts.

( dont quote me) mine humms aswell..
I originally thought the rust prevention dooka, but possibly fuel being pumped (so fuel pump humm) up or down to keep or relieve pressure?

( dont quote me) mine humms aswell..
I originally thought the rust prevention dooka, but possibly fuel being pumped (so fuel pump humm) up or down to keep or relieve pressure?