4wd or 2wd towing?

Nissan Navara Forum

Help Support Nissan Navara Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

chappy

Reaction score
Hi all, firstly let me say that this might sound like a dumb question because I have had little experience ( if any ) with 4wd vehicles so please be gentle with me :big_smile::big_smile:

We have a D22 3.0L diesel and have towed our 2.5t caravan a number of times now and we are planning a trip across to the west from Adelaide later this year.

The D22 tows well. I usually tow in 2wd in 4th gear at 85-90 Km/h at 3000 rpm and only use 5th when on a flat with no headwind so there is no heavy load on the engine or gearbox and when on a downhill slope, or is it generally ok to tow in 5th gear most of the time?

My other question to you more experienced types is, is it appropriate over long distances to tow in 4wd instead of 2wd? Will this give any real "useable" safety and stability on the highway and also would this use too much fuel or wear and tear on the front hubs to make it a viable option.

I look forward to your advise,

Cheers,

Jeff

towing in 5th gear is perfectly fine.

using 4wd on hard surfaces is a big no-no regardless if your towing or not. driving on the road on 4wd will simply break the driveline.

+1^

If you feel the engine straining, drop it back a cog. You can go in 5th gear up a mild incline and it won't hurt. Diesels are supposed to work for you! Save yourself some juice and just be comfortable with the vehicle. It'll let you know when it's struggling.

The whole purpose behind 4WD is to provide superior traction. If you aren't spinning your back wheels, 4WD is not going to do anything more than create more drag in a straight line.